Saturday, February 4, 2012

For men of honour - Hindustan Times

For men of honour - Hindustan Times:

Awarding Bharat Ratna and Padma Awards are against the spirit of the Constitution of India. Every law abiding, patriotic citizen is a Bharat Ratna. The Janata Party govt headed by Morarji Desai did away with this anti-democratic and autocratic practice in 1977. Indira Gandhi, after her return to power in 1980, again resumed the practice. What are the criteria for conferring these awards? No body knows. These awards go against the spirit of an egalitarian society and are in consonance with a feudal society. On what basis Atal Behari Vajpyee is denied Bharat Ratna, but Rajiv Gandhi is conferred one?

No comments: